Mood

Sometimes I wonder what will become of me and I feel quite sad. Ilove my husband dearly but he spends too much time asleep these days, usually in front of the televison. He’s not 55 yet but he behaves like an old, old man. My lovely girls will fly the nest before long and I think I could be very lonely. I think this is one of the reasons why I like twitter.com, it’s so lovely and random.

There must be million so of people worldwide who find company on the internet. It’s non judgemental,in the case of this blog no-one reads it anyway!

You can talk about or read about absolutely anything.

One of our patients has just lost his wife, they were together since they were 7 years old. They were married for 60 years. He’s such a lovely man. It’s so sad.

I was thinking today that maybe we whould go back to living in extended families again. There was an article on the news about people having to care for, or fund care for, their relatives. If you read Random Acts of
Reality you’ll see there is a lot of discussion about the ambulance service. The health service is failing. People are increasingly isolated and have no senior family members to consult. This is one of the reasons the services are stretched. There is no reserve of common sense to tap in to, no voice of experience .

A lot of students are having to live at home instead of moving out when they go to university. Maybe that’s a start.

Then there’s the drink problem. Is it because people are generally not that happy, because they think they should have more than they’ve got due to advertising? Take Christmas for example, that mad rush of spending and gorging and having a “good ” Christmas. Then , propbably because of disappointment and sheer boredom from a holiday in the dark of winter what next? Ah yes , the sales. Go and get in a queue , thrash about in crowds and buy things you don’t want or need, withoiut having the money to pay for them of course. Never mind Ocean Finance or similar will consoilidate your debts and give you a ” well deserved” holiday.You’ve got no money, you OWE money so, of course you DESERVE a holiday!

Oh dear, what a rant, must be my age I suppose.

One of my friends at work has got to have her bladder removed. She is so brave, she is so kind and such fun.

I have nominated her for a national honour but as she isn’t a sports person or a civil servant I doubt she’ll get it. She should though for the way she quietly does things for people purely out of the goodness of her heart.

I wish her luck, I hope she’ll be well looked after and won’t get MRSA or C Diff or any other free samples from the hospital. We will miss her so much and we will just be hoping for her to make a quick recovery so that she can come back to work and make us all laugh.

Published in: on January 10, 2007 at 9:16 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vivdora.wordpress.com/2007/01/10/mood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s sometimes the stuff like that which sometimes gets you down, just that slow realisation of stuff.

    But it gets better…

  2. I think husbands being at one with the TV remote is not a unique problem. My Dad does it, my husband does it and I can see the trait develop in my Son. Women seem to be far more resourceful in finding ways to fulfil themselves without the goggle box.

  3. You’ve got a very good point there!


Leave a Reply

