Blogging

This is all fairly new to me. I had a little bit of a blog on yahoo 360 but didn’t really take to it . Sometime ago (at least a year) I discovered <a http://randomreality,blogware.com/blog,Tom Reynold’s blog via a nursing site. I got in touch with him because of Claire’s interest in joining the ambulance service. I have bought his book and continued to follow his blog and I got hooked on Twitter.com after he mentioned it.

This then led to me meeting his lovely girlfriend Laur. http://laurasblog@wordpress.com” who kindly offered me coffee whilst Claire had her LAS assessment. I also feel I am friends with several of the Twitterers even though I haven’t met them.

This is all quite alien to me because I am 54 years old and didn’t grow up with mobile IM, the web, blogging etc. When I comment on someone’s blog or twitter to them I sometimes think, am I behaving like a stalker? Do these people want to see my comments? Am I being a freak as Jenny would say?
Does it matter, if I’m enjoying myself?

You may have noticed that a lot of this text has gone blue or red and is underlined. I don’t know how this happened and I can’t get it to go away, so , sorry, what you see is what you get!

Today I watched the video of Tom’s presentation yesterday (see his blog) and part of me thought, “who’s paying these people to sit and discuss this subject?” (Again, that show’s my age, no social media, far less service industry, far, far more manufacturing). Once I’d got over that, I was able to tune in to the discussion and think about blogging, ethics, anonymity.

Sometimes blogging makes me realise that I have little to say, hence the title of this blog. I pride myself on being able ot talk to , and hopefully empathize with , anyone but is that only superficial? Do I really have anything to say?

Having said all that, I am disappointed if no one reads my blog and I would like comments and am disappointed if there aren’t any, sad aren’t I?

Been a bit of a non event day today, got up when Claire came in from work then went back to bed and had a lie in till 10am. Took Ralph out, then came home and lazed about doing sod all really.No motivation. Ah well.

Published in: on January 27, 2007 at 7:35 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vivdora.wordpress.com/2007/01/27/blogging/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You need to add a after the text that you want to be a link.

    That’s a ” (in case the comment engine mangles the text.

  2. And it completely mangles it.

    So here is a tutorial.

    You are missing the final tag in the above text.

  3. Thanks Tom, I’ll have a bash. Laura did try to help but obviously I didn’t get it.


Leave a Reply

