My friend’s major operation

A radical cystectomy.That is having your bladder removed. It is massive stuff. 7 1/2 hours on the table. What they do is, get the tubes leading from the kidneys to the bladder, chop off a bit of bowel, poke the aforementioned tubes into the bowel and make an opening (stoma) on to the skin. The urine is then collected in a bag. while they’re at it they have a good old scrounge around inside and take out any odd bits and pieces like ovaries or a womb. (Her womb was long gone so that saved some time.)

My friend had tubes in to her neck, 5 drains, several drips and of course, her new wee-wee bag. (Jenny’s friend calls a wee-wee a double french yes.)

She spent a short time in ITU. She came home after a week but she had an infection and couldn’t stop being sick so had to go to another hospital for a few more days. Whilst there some mad old lady tipped cold water all over her!

That’s an abbreviated version of her saga. She is absolutely amazing, not complaining, walking straight backed and being immensely brave and matter of fact. I pay her great tribute,she is Amazing. She is a doctors’receptionist and NO way is she anything like the archetypal receptionist and we miss her and hope she’ll soon be back making us laugh (and making us coffee- and rolls)!

Didn’t get to blog yesterday because we had to go and buy a bottle opener (for a bottle of wine that turned out to be disgusting). We found a bottle of Kummel, yippee! Also Jen had work to do on the Mac and I couldn’t be bothered to get my laptop out.

The cars. I took Nige’s car to work today . When I came home I left it at the garage, Jen picked me up then I drove Claire’s car and Jen drove her own back to the garage. (Claire having taken my car .)

I had my eyes tested yesterday, need new glasses, tried on some wacky ones.

Maybe it’s time to have another go at a link<a href=”http://laurasblog.wordpress.com/>Laura’s blog</a> if that’s not right I’m even <b>stupider</b>than I thought oh I give up, think I’ll just have to use words! Apologies again.

Published in: on January 31, 2007 at 6:36 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vivdora.wordpress.com/2007/01/31/my-friends-major-operation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. acai…

    once again you outdid yourself…


Leave a Reply

