Blogging

I am wondering what blogging means to me? Since posting about Jenny’s ill fated cruise I’ve had an “audience” for once, thanks largely to el bloggo supremo (drum roll)Tom Reynolds.I am very pleased about this but I do feel guilty that I should be profiting from what happened to Jenny.

I am someone who always likes to be involved, rather than a spectator. I call it “Being on the other side of the green baize door”. Trouble is, I am also a lazy person and therefore not an organiser. Blogging, Twittering and Podcasting appeal to me because they connect me with other people, mostly people I don’t know. I don’t have to make an effort to go and see these people, nor do I have to email them or talk on the ‘phone and yet we can dip in and out of each other’s lives at any time.

The trouble is, I love the attention, the feeling of being a part of something and of being “known”.When I look at my blog stats and find few people have read my posts,I feel disappointed.I shouldn’t do because I know what I write is mostly boring and also, who knows I’m here? I don’t write for my family or even for my friends, I write for myself and to get attention.

I haven’t been blogging for very long and I have progressed from simply writing a sort of diary to something that is , hopefully, more meaningful and interesting. Twitter.com to which I was introduced by the aforementioned Tom, has been a great inspiration to me, it has found me new “friends” from different countries, helped me to learn a fraction more about computers and taught me to reduce my waffling to 140 characters! Some of the people on Twitter are very kind and helpful and friendly, not to mention clever and funny.

I’m beginning to get more confidence about blogging and I’m hoping it will lead to more opportunities. Jenny is very disparaging about it as is my husband who hates computers with a vengeance(fear of the unknown). Claire thinks it’s quite sweet. My sister wants to read my blog but I’m not telling her how to find it!

So thanks to everyone who read”traumatic few days” and please call back sometimes and I’ll try to write something worth reading!

PS Claire told me to tell Tom it was his fault if she was late for work tonight as his book “Blood, Sweat and Tea” is addictive I don’t know how many times she’s read it!

Published in: on April 14, 2007 at 7:33 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vivdora.wordpress.com/2007/04/14/blogging-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Don’t think of it as profiting from Jenny – it is more your bringing her story to a lot of people who would otherwise not have read the inside scoop. I agree with your take on blogging. When I see how few hits I get it can be quite demoralising but there again I am not sure I write it for the hits, more to moan and vent at times. Have met lots of interesting people through it though. Oh and my copy of Blood, Sweat and Tea is with my Doctor right now. Havne’t heard his take on it yet. Apparently Tom is going to get it published over here (USA) soon.


Leave a Reply

