Another train trip, Birthday

On Saturday we went on a train trip. Had to get up very early( Nigel got up at 3am but he’s mad), because the train was leaving from Reading at 5ish.

As usual, excellent food and service, how do they do it?Premier Train Catering are an absolutely amazing bunch of people who provide delicious food,superb service and they are very friendly. This is achieved with limited facilities and at speed, they’re quick and so is the train!

We travelled to Preston where we met our steam locomotive, Princess Elizabeth. Over the Settle/ Carlisle line in the sunshine. At Appleby the horse fair was on and we saw fields full of caravans and horses.

On the way home it was so hot I soaked my napkin in water and sat with it round my neck. Home about 10pm , very tired having done nothing. How must the staff feel?

It was my 55th birthday on Sunday.Nigel gave me a nice sloppy card, with money in , Jenny gave me the DVD of The Queen. I’m funny about birthdays, I look forward to them but somehow they are an anti climax. I received a present from an elderly friend who had gone to a lot of trouble to buy me a present and post it to me but I felt guilty because it was Dove (ordinary) and I don’t like the smell! Another friend gave me Dove too but it is different and smells nice.

On Tuesday the girls at work gave me a plant and chocolates and I was pleased but a bit embarrassed, goodness only knows why!

Patients are beginning to say goodbye, one kissed my hand today! We’re having a leaving do at the surgery even though Nige just wants to walk out the door with no fuss. Maybe we’re just a funny old pair.

Published in: on June 13, 2007 at 10:46 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vivdora.wordpress.com/2007/06/13/another-train-trip-birthday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Are there pictures?

    – Neil.


Leave a Reply

